Recipes for Afternoon Tea: Menu: Savories: …

Standard

Recipes for Afternoon Tea:

Menu:

Savories:

pumpernickel rounds with cream cheese, gravlax, boiled egg and capers

petite quiches in lorraine and spinach

Marshall’s biscuits with rosemary ham and dijon mayonnaise

sandwich triangles: curry and pecan spread and chicken, artichoke, black olive and pesto spread (both cream cheese based)

black currant scones with double devonshire cream and lemon curd

Sweets:

round brownies with whipped cream and candied violet garnishes

lemon squares

mini cheese cakes with black currant topping

cream puffs

Beverages:

peach tea

English tea (hot)

coffee

orange juice

Some recipes:

INDIVIDUAL CHEESECAKES

2 (8 oz.) cream cheese, soft

3/4 c. sugar

2 eggs

1 tsp. vanilla

1 tbsp. lemon juice

Also:

Nabisco Nilla wafers

Cherry pie topping

Foil cupcake baking cups

Beat ingredients well. Put a Nabisco Nilla wafer in each foil cupcake baking cup. Makes 18-20 individual cheesecakes. Fill foil cupcake baking cup about 2/3 full. Bake at 375 degrees for 17 minutes. Top each individual cheesecake with a spoonful of cherry pie topping when cool.

Note: I halved this recipe. It doesn’t specify here, but I used my mini muffin pan and pastel paper mini cupcake baking cups. On the trial, I overcooked them, but I got it just right the second time. The cherry pie filling didn’t appeal to me – it looked too pale – so I used black currant jam.

Finger Sandwiches

I made two kinds of spreads for my finger sandwiches. I used Harry’s Not So Ordinary White Bread, but may use Pepperidge Farm next time – it’s thinner.

The first spread I did was one I got a lot of compliments on in the past. Take about a cup and a half of soft cream cheese and dump it into a food processor with a jar of chutney (I used this amazing onion chutney this time), and between 1/2 and 3/4 cup of pecans. Process and blend together.

The second spread I made, I decided to do at the last minute because I had the ingredients on hand. It was totally improvisational, but I will try to share! I put about a cup and a half of soft cream cheese into the food processor. I added about a cup of shredded roasted chicken, and about a cup of marinated artichoke pieces. Then, I added about 20 black olives. Searching for something else, I spied a tube of pesto I had bought a while ago and squirted it in. I processed the whole thing and Presto!

Both mixtures were spread on a piece of bread, with another slice placed on top. I was able to make about 5 sandwiches with each and still have leftovers. I cut the crusts off and cut them into four triangles with a serrated knife. I stacked them on plates under damp paper towels until it was time to serve them.

The other items:

My mom made the lemon squares and the scones, which were delicious. She also assembled the gravlax – cutting each slice of bread and fish into little circles!

The Marshall’s biscuits can be found at most grocery stores. I baked them, had my husband slice them, and used a squirt bottle of Dijonnaise and my favorite Rosmarino ham from Costco in between the halves.

The little quiches, the round brownies, and the cream puffs were from Costco. The lemon curd and double Devonshire cream came from Star Provisions. That was the best lemon curd I have ever had.

2 responses »

  1. You’re so awesome! I do not think I’ve truly read anything like that before.
    So good to find another person with some original thoughts on this subject matter.
    Seriously.. thank you for starting this up. This site is one thing that’s needed on the internet, someone with some originality!

  2. Oh my goodness! Awesome article dude! Thank you so much, However I am encountering problems with your RSS.
    I don’t know why I can’t subscribe to it. Is there anybody having identical
    RSS problems? Anyone that knows the answer can you kindly respond?
    Thanks!!

Leave a comment