House of the Scorpion Loteria Card 2

Standard
Property of the Alacran Estate

Property of the Alacran Estate

I just ambushed a fellow teacher – she said that she is teaching House of the Scorpion.  Okay, I didn’t jump her – I just eagerly offered my help.  I don’t know if I will be teaching HOTS this year.  Although it is written on a 6th grade level, I have usually used it for older students.  This is my first time teaching 6th grade ESOL, so I don’t want to push it.

I had already offered my services to one teacher, but she just said that most of her students had already read the book by 6th grade.  She must teach “enhanced” Lang. Arts classes.  So, I hope that there is someone that will benefit from my experience.

This card is from the deck I started designing last year.  When he is born, Matt Alacran is tattooed on his foot.  I actually imagine it as one of those round address label stamps, but I really liked this tribal scorpion tattoo that I found online, so I thought I’d use it.  I hope it was on his left foot…  I like this card – the feet, the “Property of” t-shirt design in the background and the scorpion tattoo look cool.

In the story, the tattoo is usually out of sight, but it give him away at the beginning when he cuts his feet and hands.  Then, someone at the orphanage sees it and rats him out.

3 responses »

  1. I am a grad student working on a Integrated Unit Plan centered on The House of the Scorpion. I love your ideas and they have already been of great benefit to me. In fact, I have just included you as a source in my Annotated Bibliography for this project. If you have anything that you feel would be of use to me that you are willing to share, please contact me at childress@goldmail.etsu.edu. Thanks.

  2. Pingback: House of the Scorpion Loteria Card 3 « Maison Celeste

  3. We have been talking about cloning in science class and are now doing a project. I am doing a book report on House of the Scorpion and found myself turning page after page. I’m addicted.

Leave a Reply

