Oreo Cookie Cupcake Experiment, Part 3

Standard

IMG_1020-1Okay, I hadn’t made cupcakes for a long time (it seems…), so when I was told that we could bring a dish to the Atlanta Collage Society art show in Blue Ridge, I decided to make some.  This time, since it was an hors d’oeuvres situation, I decided to try to make mini cupcakes.

I already knew that Oreo made miniature cookies:  I just didn’t know for sure how many were in a bag.  I also decided to buy another mini cupcake baking pan.  I had only one, which cooks 24 cupcakes at a time and I knew there would be more than that.  I settled on two 12 cupcake pans, to later have the option to make smaller batches.

Basically, I followed the same recipe as in my Oreo Cookie Cupcake, Part 1 entry.  But I will see if I can note the differences when mini cookies and mini cupcake pans are used.

COOKIES AND CREAM CUPCAKES
MAKES 22 TO 24

1 bag Mini Oreo Sandwich Cookies ( a bag has about 75-80 mini cookies)
1 bag regular sized Oreo Cookies (you will have many left over)
1 package (18.25 ounces) plain white cake mix (I used Duncan Hines Vanilla)
1 cup sour cream
1/2 cup vegetable oil
3 large eggs
1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract

1. Place a rack in the center of the oven and preheat the oven to 350°F. Line 48 cupcake cups with mini paper liners. Set the pans aside.IMG_1010-1

2. Count out 24 Oreos and separate the top and bottom wafers. Make sure each has some of the icing on it. Place one wafer, icing side up, in the bottom of each paper liner. Set them aside. Place the remaining whole mini Oreo cookies aside for garnish.

3. Take about 18-20 of the LARGE Oreos and put them in a food processor to crush. You may also place the Oreos between sheets of waxed paper or in a large, closed zipper-lock bag and crush them by rolling over them with a rolling pin. Set these crumbs aside.

4. Place the cake mix, sour cream, oil, eggs, and vanilla in a large mixing bowl. Blend with an electric mixer on low speed for 30 seconds. Stop the machine and scrape down the sides of the bowl with a rubber spatula. Increase the mixer speed to medium and beat 1 1/2 minutes more, scraping down the sides again if needed.

5. Measure out 1 1/2 cups of the crushed Oreos and fold these into the batter until well incorporated. Set aside the remaining crushed Oreos for the frosting. Spoon or scoop 1/3 cup batter into each lined cup­cake cup, filling it three quarters of the way full. (You will get between 48 and 56 cupcakes; I had to cook a smaller second batch of 8 after the first 48 were done) Place the pans in the oven.IMG_1011

4. Bake the cupcakes until they are lightly golden and spring back when lightly pressed with your finger, 14 to 18 minutes. Remove the pans from the oven and place them on wire racks to cool for 5 minutes. Carefully remove the cupcakes in their papers and place them on a wire rack to cool thoroughly (at least an hour) before frosting.IMG_1014

Cake Doctor’s Vanilla Buttercream: Place 8 tablespoons real butter, at room temperature, 2 teaspoons vanilla and 1 cup powdered sugar in a large mixing bowl. Blend with electric beaters at low speed 30 seconds. Add 3 more cups powdered sugar alternately with 3 tablespoons milk, a tablespoon at a time, blending at low speed. Increase to medium speed and beat until light and fluffy, 1 minute more. Makes 3-1/2 cups.

I iced the cupcakes with the vanilla buttercream, sprinkled Oreo cookie crumbs on top, then planted a mini Oreo cookie in the center.IMG_1016

Note: Next time, I think I will dispense with the 1/2 Oreo in the bottom of the cupcake liner. Instead, I may make a thin crust of crushed oreos and a little bit of butter. Maybe its just me, but the mini Oreos were not big enough to fill the whole bottom of the cupcake liners, and I thought an even layer would look better.

Leave a Reply

