Lover’s Eye Art

Standard

I had a little time on my hands today, so I thought that I would play around eye pin edwardwith Adobe Photoshop.  My inspiration was an 18th century art form known as the Lover’s Eye.  I found a few in a decorating magazine and used them in a collage a couple of years ago.  I don’t know what brought them up again – oh, I was doing a search for heart ex-votos, and this shop had some up for sale.  they run about $3000 to $6000!

Generally, they were miniature portraits of a person’s eye, set in a frame, box, or locket.  Usually, the story was that they were the eye of a secret lover, but they were also popular mourning pieces for the dead.  They were often made into brooches, surrounded by stones.  Pearls, in particular, are supposed to represent tears.

I started surfing the Internet, “collecting” eyes – well, entire faces, of course, but in order to use the eyes.  This one is – can you guess? – Edward Cullen.  Many of the girls in my class were able to recognize it, but my husband was not.  I found a photo of Robert Pattinson and tweaked it (a lot) in Photoshop, making his eye golden, then giving the piece a painted effect.

I used a fabric sample picture for the “gold” frame and settings.  I decided to use black pearls, just to be unusual.  I am sure Edward would prefer black pearls over white.  I found some garnet earrings set in diamonds and added them.  I really like the effect.  I don’t know what I will do with it next – it was just a fun exercise.

2 responses »

  1. Hi, Celeste. What a fun idea to do the eye portrait in Photoshop. Like you, I’ve been intrigued by these for quite some time, and did a series of eye portraits (life size) of friends and family. Afterward, I scanned them, shrunk them down to a size appropriate for a brooch, then created brooches for the sitter of each portrait (for them to give to their “secret lovers”).

    Very nice blog!
    Robin Hernandez

Leave a Reply

