Wacky Idea Number 1 – Semana Santa Peeps Diorama

Standard

I have had a lot of ideas lately – one of them cannot be done yet because it’s not the right season, one cannot be done because I am missing a supply, and one of them, well, probably cannot be done.  Today, I will propose the first idea.

It is that time of year when the Washington Post posts a slide show of their Peeps Diorama contest.  I was reminded by the Crafty Chica’s post about a peeps shrine she made using one of her new products. I would like to do a diorama of a Semana Santa (Holy Week) procession in Peeps.  There is nothing against what I am planning in the entry guidelines. So I guess it’s up to my good sense.

Now, we’re in trouble.  I am not known for my sensibility when I think an idea is cool.

In my senior year of high school, just as I was on the fringe of the popular folk, I wrote a cute poem.  It was about favoritism during the rehearsal for the Dramatic Interpretation competitions we used to participate in when we took Drama or Speech.  It was so cute, I did not think about how negative it sounded, criticizing the sponsor and basically saying that coaching preference was given to students who were consistent winners.

True, perhaps – but when they found out who wrote the poem, I became Persona Non Grata to the Speechies from that time on.

A while back, I used to teach Exploratory Spanish and I used to show a LOT of videos.  I had two in particular that pertained to the Easter season.  There was one about Semana Santa in Spain.  Then, there was a two day (or all weekend?) Easter procession in Peru.

The basic idea of the procession is that the relics from the church (statues, holy items, etc.) are taken out and paraded around the town on huge floats.  The floats are carried by a solid wall of people – mostly men. I thought this would be interesting to portray.  But, I don’t know if it’s appropriate.  I went to all three of the Washington Post slide shows, and the only dioramas I found of a religious subject were a priest commissioning Michelangelo to paint the Sistine Chapel, a re-creation of a Passover seder, and Mardi Gras (I know it’s not the same thing, I just thought I would mention it!).
Nothing like a nativity or Noah’s Ark or anything like that. But, here’s my idea anyway:

1. I would steer away from Spain’s celebration (see picture).  They tend to process in costumes with tall pointy hats and cloaks – often white. Also, as you see in the picture, a large cross is shouldered by one or more of the men.  While I understand the symbolism and culture behind this, I live in the South.  All people would see is a bunch of men in cloaks and white pointy hats bearing a cross… you know: the Ku Klux Klan!
nazarenos

2. No, South America is more friendly.  I found a picture of a group of men in purple carrying a huge wooden platform with a scene from the Bible perched atop it.
semana-santa-procession-large
I immediately thought of purple Peeps.
purplepeeps
3. Also, in Guatemala, they lay down intricate and colorful carpets made of sawdust, flower petals, and other items.  These are called alfombras.  I figured I could do that with sand or glitter.  After the decoration is admired – and hopefully, photographed – the people in the procession walk right through it!
alfombrasemanasanta
So, unless I buy up Peeps and let them petrify for a year, I will have to wait for next year to plan my project.  I don’t know if it would be considered sacreligious, or just offensive. Hey, maybe some will find it cute!

I thought I was done with my Peeps ideas.  But they keep on coming.  What about a large Peep sculpture of the Virgin of Guadalupe.  I could call her “Guadalu-Peep”.

But, then again…

Leave a Reply

