Peruvian Yellow Beans

Standard

The other day, I stopped by my local Latino supermercado to look for tostadas and left with beans.  See, I was planning to play Loteria with my students, and beans are traditionally used as bingo markers in Mexico.  There were big bags of Peruvian Beans, which are yellowish.  I decided to buy some and cook them.  Although I used the slow cooker, I went ahead and soaked them (2 pounds) over night.  When I woke up the next morning, they were TWICE their dry size.  At first, I hesitated to put them all in even my large slow cooker, but went ahead and did it anyway.

I added 6 cups of chicken broth, 3 smoked turkey necks, a bit of olive oil, and a chunk of ham bouillon.  For flavor, I tossed in some Goya recaito (a unique cilantro-based seasoning. Goya sautés cilantro, green pepper, onion and garlic in olive oil to create this rich, thick base that enhances the flavor of your beans, rice, soups and stews).  Then, I decided to use this Peruvian seasoning that I had been hoarding.  It’s called Palillo Curcuma, and I had been waiting for the right time to use it.  Turns out, it’s turmeric!  A Peruvian version, yes, but still, turmeric.

They turned out great!  We had them for dinner tonight.  I went ahead and sauteed some turkey kielbasa to serve with them, even though I had shredded the smoked turkey neck and reincorporated them into the beans.  I was going to serve them with rice, but I am on Weight Watchers and that would have added points that could be spent elsewhere.  Besides, a cup of the those beans were quite filling already.

“Interestingly, when you put them in the fridge, the cooking liquid becomes gelatinous like a good chicken stock; it does not remain like a water like pintos or blacks. Use them whole or refried as you would pinto beans.”  That was a quote from Chowhound and it’s true!

Leave a Reply

