Mi vida es una loteria!

Standard

Okay now, don’t laugh at me.  I just paid over $100 for a Loteria game.  Now, remember that I am one of the people who has actually sold a vinyl shower curtain for $150 because it was discontinued (part of the now defunct Zarela Loteria line).  Well, last week, while doing my routine Ebay surfing, I came across an auction for a Don Clemente Loteria game that was printed in the 50s or 60s.  I first saw reproductions of the cards at a restaurant in San Antonio and did some research on it.  When I finally found images of the deck on Elsewhere.org, a site that has many decks displayed.

31ed_1I never thought I would find it, but lo and behold, there it was on eBay!  I have to admit that I was prepared to fight for it, and I didn’t blog about it until the auction was over because I didn’t want anyone else to bid on it!  I started out with a high bid of $50 and let that ride for a few days.  When someone else bid and the price got up to $32, I went ahead and raised my high bid to $100.  Then, just to be sure, the day of the auction, I raised it to $150.02.

It’s a good thing I did.  I was there for the last 45 minutes of the auction.  It looked like I was going to get off pretty easy, but in the last MINUTE of the auction, the price exploded from $60 to $106!  It is worth it, though.  And, I just found out who was also bidding – the Elsewhere.org person!  Sorry!

No, I’m not.

It’s been quite a Loteria month.  First, I found a Loteria t-shirt on eBay made by Circa – which is a skateboarding outfitter.  I bid on it and won it for only $13 (with shipping, it was about $19).  Then, I got an e-mail from the shopkeeper, saying that the auction was mistakenly put up by a “bug” on eBay.  I am dubious, but since it doesn’t look like they were trying to elicit my PayPal account info or anything else sinister, I went ahead and accepted the refund.  I have since found it on Amazon.com, but I am trying to not buy it yet.  After all, I have just spent about $165 on Loteria games in the past couple of weeks!
nacholibreloteria
I found a promotional copy of a Loteria game made for the Nacho Libre film – it comes with its own little luchador bag.  It will be interesting to see the design for the deck.  I also bought a Loteria game for bridal showers that I had seen around for a while, and a black and white Loteria based on the 100 names for Death in Mexico (there were only 50 names though…).  So, as you can see, I have been playing the lottery quite heavily lately…
pcloteriabag
I did NOT buy this purse yet, though.  It has been on auction for at least 6 months.  It is a Pineda Covalin style with Loteria images.  It’s really funky and beautiful, but I really don’t carry purses like that – not $149 purses, anyway.  I am sure it’s a good deal – a lot of those purses on the Pineda Covalin site are about $200.  Alas,  I am more of the $10-denim-purse-purchased-from-Target kind of girl.  I hope it goes to a good home.  Subsequent Google searches have not unearthed any other products of that design.  It must be an old print.

Last, but not least, I found a print on Amazon.com that is a reproduction of Jose Guadalupe Posada’s Loteria stored in the National Library of Congress. Here is a copy that you can view up close from the University of New Mexico’s digital collection. There is also a great authentic Posada “broadside (large poster print?) depicting the verses that go along with his loteria.  Coincidence?  I don’t think so!

2 responses »

  1. Oh, that was you? Congratulations 🙂 I’m happy it went to a good home. I do feel a little better about letting it go, knowing that you bid $150 for it. I was kicking myself for not bidding it up to $125 (when you outbid me at $60, I figured I’d wait until the end of the auction to see if there were a lot more bidders), but now I know I wouldn’t have won anyway, and I sort of saved you $20 by not staying in.

  2. Thanks – that’s so sweet! Anyway, it’s your fault I had to have it. I’ve been drooling over the pictures you’ve had up for the longest time.

    Oh, BTW, I was wondering if you wanted scans of some of my collection. I mean, with watermarks, of course. Ciao!

Leave a Reply

