Just Ordinary “Folk”

Standard

I just got my postcard announcing the coming Slotin Arts Folk Fest.  It’s touted as the “World’s Greatest Self-Taught Art Show & Sale” and it takes place right across I-85 every year at the North Atlanta Trade Center.  I have been to it several times, and it is fabulous.  I love it – and, one day, I would love to show there.

The problem is this:  I don’t ever think ahead a year and and say, “Next year, I will exhibit,” and plan accordingly.  I usually get the flyer and think “Oh, Folk Fest!  I wonder if I should exhibit this year!”  I go then to the Exhibitor Information page to find that price of booths are VERY high.  Last year, I think it was $800 for a 10′ by 10′ booth – this year, it’s $900.  I don’t think I have that much in inventory!!  I know for sure that I don’t have that much stuff made.  So, next year… maybe.

Another idea is to find two other artist and go in together.  That might be do-able, but 10′ by 10′ is not a lot of room.  This year, what I might do is put together a brochure and hand it out to folk art galleries with which I think that my art would be a good fit.  Then, I need to visit some places in Atlanta and do the same.

My “problem” is that my work is very diverse.  I have my collage art, which I know my mother would like to see me do more of.  It’s from magazine images, and I love doing them, but I need to make a specific area to do so in my studio.  The images need to lay out, so I can see what “goes” before I commit to a setting.

I also have what I consider my “bread and butter” – my various shrines.  These are made with purchased note cards and post cards and have 3 basic subjects:  the Blue Dog, the Virgin of Guadalupe, and Frida Kahlo.  I have several styles, including mini shrines, made from wooden maze puzzles, to sheer shrines made from boxes I bought at Pier One to house incense and potpourri.  Oh, and I have a LOT of incense… and potpourri.  My Virgin of Guadalupe crosses also sell well.

Those items above, I consider “folk art”.  I have some formal training in art from high school and college, but mostly, I see materials and think:  “Boy, wouldn’t it be neat to do something with that!”  That’s how I came up with my Loteria Story Boxes.   And I have all manner of inventions, including the Pour Deux Baker – which is a set of baking dishes with recipes (I don’t have that up yet, and need to do so).  Oh, there’s more, believe me.  I haven’t even mentioned my CafePress shop

I will stop my rambling for a while and go for a walk.  I was up late the other night, brainstorming other projects and this morning we got up at 4AM to take my mother to the airport, so my body is very confused.

Leave a Reply

