Lazy Daze

Standard

Well, it looks like I am still in slow mode.  My husband is back from Nashville, but he is resting up after all of that convention activity.  So there is not a whole lot of incentive for me to jump into Take Charge and Get a Lot Accomplished Mode.  The right side of my mouth is still sore from “crown” excavation, and although I am taking a lot of aspirin for the ache, pain still strikes at strange times – often in the middle of the night.  Then I usually lie there in denial before I make myself get up and take some Tylenol PM, which takes a while to take effect.

Still, I did sell some things on E-Bay, and I am going to work on starting those orders today.  First, I am eating a lovely Lean Cuisine Flatbread Wrap (6 WW points) with a Diet Coke (0 points).  That will be followed by a small slice of the CHOCOLATE CAKE I made for my Mom’s birthday (too many Points to count…).  After experimenting with some French gateaux au yaourt (yogurt cakes), I decided that the American palate is looking for something a little more decadent and sweet in its cakes.

So yesterday, I settled on the Hershey’s Perfectly Chocolate Cake recipe – I used Hershey’s Cocoa Powder for the cake and Scharffen Berger Cocoa Powder for the icing.  I made two cakes – well, two and a half – by using my four 6 inch cake pans instead of 2 nine inch cake pans.  That way, Mom has a small cake to keep at home, and so do we!  Not that we need it…  I say 2 and a half because one of the cake layers got messed up.  I set it aside and cut the remaining 6 layers in half, making two small 3-layer cakes.  I made extra icing, of course, and then cut the messed up piece into two layers and used the remainder of the icing on it.

I have already sent two slices along to a friend, and Dad is coming tomorrow.  There MAY be one slice left for him if I hide it from my husband…  Needless to say, this week has not been an extremely successful Weight Watchers’ week.  Back on the horse by Thursday meeting, though!

Leave a Reply

