Hong Kong Supermarket

Standard

This morning, I had a crown fitting.  Let me re-phrase that:  I went to the dentist (who is a very nice man, BTW) and had my back molar blasted away and fitted with the temporary crown.  It did not hurt, of course – until the numbness wore off.  Ow!  And my tongue was injured! – Double Ow!  I’m sure that the big bowl of acidic gazpacho that I had for lunch helped to cauterize the wounds…

After the dentist, I decided to go to an Asian market.  My original intent was to see if they have the Shirataki Noodles that I paid $1.50 for at Whole Foods. I did find some, but they looked a bit like baby eel.  In an internet ADD moment, I found this quote from the Living La Vida Lo Carb blog:  “The natural looks kind of disgusting. It’s clear with brown dots. However they taste exactly the same.” I’ll consider it next time!

I ended up spending over an hour and $40 there, anyway.  I entered the market and was greeted by an unpleasant smell – as if the garbage had been left in the store!  I should have known that it was durian season!  After I got past produce, I did what I usually do in a new market.  I methodically go down the aisles.  I picked up an avocado, a green bell pepper, and won ton wrappers (to try this recipe for guava empanadas).

The rest of the time was spent on the sundries aisle, purchasing joss paper – they had SO many gorgeous sets!  Okay, I had already heard a great story from my friend Laura about one of her artist friends purchasing the joss paper in Houston’s Chinatown for art.  The women in the shop were horrified.  I just found this post that explains a bit of this – apparently, I must be sensitive.  I don’t know if that is possible ;-)!

I did buy two packages of  Vietnamese sponge cake molds and what I assume are rice cake molds.  I couldn’t resist.  The former look like a little like this, but come in a wide variety of shapes and imprints.  The latter are made of clear plastic or acrylic. and are a little larger.  What am I going to do with them?  I don’t know.  I also purchase a flat tin with 21 circular indentations – I will use them for drying my day of the dead skulls.  I bought some candles in yellow and red, a Mexican Naipes deck, a Loteria de Mi Tierra game.

Then I came home and took a nap.

Leave a Reply

