Tin Ornaments

Standard

As a person who is intensely interested in the arts and crafts of Mexico, I have many many files that contain images I have collected on the internet.  I collect amusing ex-voto stories,  images of the Virgin of Guadalupe, samples of Huichol yarn and bead art, Oaxacan alebrijes, Loteria images, and images of heart milagros and tin ornaments – to name a few.

I am planning on using the story pictures that I have found to refer to in lesson plans I want to make integrating Latino Art with my ESOL curriculum.  I also have been creating my own little Loterias for years.  Currently, I have collected many images of tin and silver hearts – I have used them for inspiration and template to make my own Milagros.

Now, I am also working on sketching out whimsical drawings inspired by tin ornaments.  At the moment, I have 11 drawings – all animals or birds.  When I am finished with the animals, there are still many other items to draw – Day of the Dead ornaments, Christmas ornaments, angels, devils, mermaids, etc.  I have a lot of ideas on how to use them – will share more about that later.

Today I got up late and made the pilgrimage to RuSan in Buckhead for sushi.  After that, I went to Pearl Art and Craft Supply.  I had not been there for a really long time, so I had to go up and down the aisles of the whole store to make sure I didn’t miss anything.  I found these cheap blown glass mobiles for only $1.95 each.  There were little glass fish, starfish, birdies, chicks and bunnies hanging from them.  I bought them to cut apart and use in my Story Boxes.  It was a pretty good score!

Now I am going to go and make Thai Catfish Nuggets on rice. Yay!

2 responses »

  1. Good morning. Just came across your page here about Mexican tin art. I am an art teacher in Fort Lauderdale (from Atlanta!). I have been doing Mexican tin art with my classes for years. If you want to do it with your class here is how I do it…I use silver aluminum tooling foil over a stack of newspapers, draw design using a wooden tool…add texture and patterns, and color with colored sharpies. They are beautiful. Hope this is helpful. Pearl carries the foil, too.
    Take care,
    Stephanie

Leave a Reply

