La Sirena and The Sea of Trolls

Standard

lasirenaforwordpress.jpgThank God it’s Friday!!!  One more week until Spring Vacation!!!  Then, 6 weeks left until school ends!  That’s 35 days – 18 B-Days and 17 A-Days to go!!!

Not that I am counting…

I have another new Milagro design up at CafePress.  It’s called La Sirena.  I happen to have an image of La Sirena (The Mermaid) of the Loteria deck that has a shell bra on – just to keep it family friendly.  I worked hard to use a different color paletta for this design and to keep up a nautical/Latino them.  That is why there are milagros and fish and shells!  I like it a lot!  I plan on ordering something at the beginning of next month.

This week, I am listening to a book on CD.  I am a huge fan of Nancy Farmer’s book, House of the Scorpion – I must have listened to it about 20 times.  Mainly, this is because I taught it as part of my ESOL reading curriculum.  It is a book that touches many levels – the reading level is supposed to be 6th grade, but the variety of themes and concepts that she touches on is vast.  I usually create a bulletin board with everything from cloning to opium production to soccer houligans to the Virgin of Guadalupe and more.  Still, for my Latino students that are unmotivated readers, there is a lot of information that they can recognize from their culture.  I love that book!

My husband asked if I had read any of Nancy Farmer’s other books, and I have to say that I haven’t.  So that is why I am currently listening to The Sea of Trolls.  It is epic – it took me a while to get into it, but I like it.  I just found out that there is a sequel, so I will read that next.  Then I want to move on to The Chronicles of Narnia!

Leave a Reply

