Sunday is Cooking Day

Standard

I woke up this morning to go to my massage appointment.  I regularly get massages at the Atlanta School of Massage.  Student massages are $40 an hour.  There is also a “spa” program – the Atlanta School of Aesthetics – that offers facials, waxing, and other beauty treatments.  If you live in the Atlanta area, I highly recommend their services.  The students are overseen by instructors, and I have rarely had a bad massage there.

When I got home, I decided there was enough time to cook the corned beef brisket I bought last night.  I was in a St. Patrick’s Day slow cooking mood.  I used Lynn Alley’s recipe, but had to make a couple of changes.  We don’t drink beer, so I was not going to buy a six-pack of Guinness just for one cup of beer.  I used a cup of Old Milwaukee Non-Alcoholic beer instead – I know: horrors!  I also used chicken broth instead of the water (I had no beef broth handy).  Instead of the spices mentioned in the recipe, I went ahead and used the spice pack in the corned beef container.

After that, I made a recipe that I think I mentioned a couple of days ago:  Smoked Turkey, Black Bean, Bell Pepper, and Corn Salad.   I accidentally got roasted turkey that was not smoked, and I cooked the corn because I have no experience using raw corn kernels in stuff.  For the dressing, I just took a cup of Newman’s Own Light Sun-Dried Tomato Dressing (which, if truth be told, I think was actually half that and half Roasted Bell Pepper Dressing – I like to combine things to clean out the refrigerator…) and added cilantro, lime juice, roasted garlic, ancho chile powder, a little bit of KC Masterpiece Barbecue Sauce (for smoke), and some more olive oil and pureed it all in the blender.  I served it on spinach leaves with 1/4 chopped avocado on top.  It was good!

We ate the last of my home-made yogurt with mango and strawberries.  I got a yogurt maker for Christmas, after reading about making your own in French Women Don’t Get Fat.  I had to replace the first one because I thought it was broken.  In truth, I think I just needed to read the directions again for setting the timer.  Any-hoo….  The yogurt is a trial and error thing for me – so far, I am 2 batches good, 2 batches ruined.  Mainly, the ruining happens in the cooking stage.  I just scalded my milk a few minutes ago.  I may have to use the method of just leaving the milk out until it is room temperature.

Leave a Reply

