It’s not Diet Time yet….

Standard

Yesterday, I came to the cruel realization that I was off by one day in my estimation.  I did not realize that it was TUESDAY.  That meant that I only had ONE more vacation day left.  I was crushed!  I am still in shock…  but I am coming around.

I know, those of you who did have 13 days off have no sympathy for me whatsoever.  It’s all good!

This morning, I woke up and checked my e-mail.  I am a subscriber to the Hungry Girl.com newsletters, and was inspired by the latest installment.  I went to Publix (after eating lunch at Wendy’s) and bought some lovely Diet friendly foods,  Weight Watchers desserts, Kashi frozen entrees, Progresso O-point soups, and even a bottle of Salad Spritzers.  I will try them this week.

When I got home, however, I was faced with the fact that I still had two bars of intensely dark chocolate (I forgot the make, I got it on sale and put it in the freezer), but it is some huge percentage of cocoa that you should not try to eat by undiluted.  I also had two bars of Abuelita drinking chocolate as well as the big box of Abuelita drinking chocolate tablets, which I used to make my brother in law’s birthday cake and cupcakes.

So, I went a’Googling, looking for recipes that use bar cooking chocolate instead of cocoa powder.  I found some great recipes at Scharffenberger and Nestle Chocolatier, but was happy to see that La Abuelita, a Mexican product owned by Nestle, also had some very interesting looking recipes.

I decided to make a Bundt cake using this recipe from Nestle Chocolatier:

Chocolate Mayan Bundt Cake – (from the site) A unique twist on a favorite. This Bundt cake is infused with chocolate, cinnamon and cayenne flavors and topped with an elegant chocolate or cinnamon glaze.

Ingredients:

Directions:
PREHEAT PREHEAT oven to 350º F. Grease 12-cup Bundt pan.

FOR CAKE:
MICROWAVE
baking bars in small, uncovered, microwave-safe bowl on HIGH (100%) power for 45 seconds; STIR. If pieces retain some of their original shape, microwave at additional 10- to 15-second intervals, stirring just until melted.

COMBINE flour, cinnamon, baking soda, salt and cayenne pepper in small bowl. Beat brown sugar, granulated sugar, butter and vanilla extract in large mixer bowl until creamy. Add eggs, one at a time, beating well after each addition. Beat in melted chocolate. Beat flour mixture into creamed mixture alternately with milk. Pour into prepared Bundt pan.

BAKE for 40 to 45 minutes or until wooden pick inserted in center comes out clean. Cool for 10 minutes; invert cake onto wire rack to cool completely. Transfer cake to serving platter. Drizzle cake with Chocolate Glaze. Let set before serving.

FOR CHOCOLATE GLAZE:
MICROWAVE
baking bar in small, uncovered, microwave-safe bowl on HIGH (100%) power for 45 seconds; STIR. If pieces retain some of their original shape, microwave at additional 10- to 15-second intervals, stirring just until melted.

PLACE 1 1/2 cups powdered sugar in medium bowl. Form a well; pour in butter, whipping cream, salt and melted chocolate. Stir until blended. If necessary, add remaining powdered sugar, 1 tablespoon at a time, until pouring or drizzling consistency is reached. Spoon Chocolate Glaze over top of cake. Let stand until glaze is firm.

I had to be pretty creative, because I had decided to use the La Abuelita bar chocolate instead of the high end chocolate mentioned above.  This time, I didn’t change the sugar amounts too much.  La Abuelita already has some sugar in it, so I may decrease that next time.  La Abuelita also already has cinnamon flavoring, so I didn’t put as much cinnamon in.  I am not a huge fan of cayenne in my cakes, so I added 1/2 tsp. ancho chile powder and less than 1/4 tsp. of cayenne.

What else?  I had to add Crisco shortening to my butter, since I had very little butter (unusual for me!) and was not going out into the cold to get more.  I made the glaze by melting the rest of the second chocolate bar and adding it to the rest of my butter, and adding some La Abuelita chocolate syrup and Nestle Dulce de Leche syrup I had in the fridge.

The cake turned out okay – a little dry for my taste, a little sweet according to my husband.  It needed ice cream, probably.  I might try some of the Haagen-Daaz Dulce de Leche (I think that the new Cinnamon Dulce de Leche or Mayan chocolate would be a little overkill… for others, if not for me!) I definitely think it would be better as a two layer cake with an awesome frosting or as cupcakes.  I know that when I bring it to school, no one will be as critical as I am – they generally appreciate any food offerings.

Oh, speaking of ice cream and syrup – I tried my beautiful Cinnamon Pear Caramel Sauce from the King’s Cupboard with the new Haagen-Daaz Caramelized Pear and Roasted Pecan ice cream.  The Caramel is to-die-for, but I wasn’t as impressed with the ice cream.  I used some of my caramel to make two mini tarts with shortbread-almond crust and sugar-free vanilla pudding with cinnamon added.  It was yummy!

Did I mention that I am considering eating more healthily?

Leave a Reply

