Thanksgiving night

Standard

I am probably going to go to sleep right after this post – I have not gone for seconds of apple pie and ice cream like my husband has. We got back from “lunch” at Mom’s at around 6:30 – we had been there since about noon. Mom did the big thing – the turkey and stuffing. She brined the turkey using the Victoria Gourmet Smoky Brining Blend she got from the Cook’s Warehouse. It was really good, but the turkey was HUGE – 18 lbs. for just 5 people!

I brought the makings for Kir Royale and I wish I had brought an appetizer because we didn’t eat until 2PM or so. First course was a curried pumpkin apple soup – left over from a luncheon Mom had last week. It was great. Then we had the turkey, stuffing and giblet gravy. For side dishes we had Oysters Rockefeller (not served in the shells), a congealed salad, green beans, and a roasted butternut squash, carrot, and sweet potato mash I made.

I made the desserts as well. I made a pecan pie using the recipe on the back of the Karo Syrup bottle. It was good, but leaked under the crust so it was a little hard to pry out of the pan. I also made an apple pie. I used Grandma Ople’s Apple Pie recipe, but used Jonathan apples as well as Granny Smith. I also used calvados (apple brandy) instead of the water, and added some quince paste to the pie – I had some left over from making some cupcakes. I went to the store and bought some ice cream to go with it. I got one pint of Haagen Daz Light Dulce de Leche and then could not resist a new flavor: Cinnamon Dulce de Leche. Awesome!

While I’m on that thought process, what about this: Haagen Daz has a limited edition flavor – Caramelized Pear and Toasted Pecan.  That would be awesome with that King’s Cupboard Pear Cinnamon Caramel sauce, wouldn’t it?  With poached pears?  😉

Now I’m hungry again…

Leave a Reply

