140 Channels…

Standard

This weekend, we got satellite cable installed. Well, at least on my TV downstairs. They have to come back with a taller ladder to add the living room TV.

I guess I need to explain that we have been without cable for 3 years. I got used to it – really. We had an antenna, and then an HD receiver, and that really is enough. Downstairs, I got the local channels. Upstairs, with the HD receiver, we got a few more channels, and a clearer picture – most of the time. Also, with Netflix, I could get caught up on most TV shows, now that it is popular to release them on DVD.

Still, we decided to take the plunge. Since I have lost my cellphone anyway, we decided to move over to BellSouth. We are trying out their plan where we get home phone, cell phones, DSL, and TV for one charge. My husband navigated the dizzying array of choices last week. He says that we are entitled to many many rebates in the future. I also will be getting a pink razor phone.

Friday, we went over to see friends after school, and by the time we got back I just went to sleep – it had been a weary week. Saturday, after doing some shopping, I came home and worked on putting a finish on my new Blue Dog Shrine (pix coming later) and other items. While I worked, I half watched, half listened to Alton Brown’s new series Feasting on Asphalt. There was a marathon that started at around 3 or 4 and ended at 9PM. My husband spent some time with me, working on backing up my laptop, and pronounced the show “mind-numbingly boring.” A lot he knows…

Yesterday afternoon, I came across Three Kings, that movie about Desert Storm starring George Clooney, Mark Wahlberg, and Ice Cube (or Ice T – I get them mixed up). It’s an excellent movie – I didn’t see all of it, though because I was fixing food for dinner at Mom’s house.

One of the scarier things I found on TV today was Bindi, the Jungle Girl. Bindi is Steve Irwin’s daughter, and she’s very cute. And I am sure that the show is very educational. But I think it’s kind of eerie that they insert digital video clips of Steve Irwin into the show, as if he is still alive. I guess it’s okay for them to show old footage of Steve – culled from his own show, I think. But it sometimes lacks context – in time, that is. Come to think of it, Bindi seems to often refer to her dad as if he IS alive. It’s just strange, I think.

I did not do too much this weekend – I went to JoAnn Fabrics, and found a couple of things on Saturday. Yesterday, I located a Party City on my side of town, but was disappointed that their Halloween stuff is not all out yet. Last week, I found a package of round mazes made of plastic and found out how to pop the top off. I am working on something to send to the Sampler, and all of it has to be sent before the 15th. I will have to go to the Party City in Smyrna this afternoon and make them tonight if I want to do that!

I am trying to get into the rhythm of the French on Computers thing. I am learning a bit about the program, and am working on finding supplementary items on the internet for added enrichment. Now, I have to figure out how to do lesson plans and unit plans and curriculum maps. Ugggghhh! It never ends.

One thing I was thinking about last week was applying for a Fulbright Scholarship. I was surfing the net, looking for lesson plans, when I came across some French Teacher’s Association website. There was a link to the Fulbright, with these words:

SECONDARY SCHOOL TEACHER SEEKS EXCHANGE PARTNER: US/Paris

You are a French teacher in the United States. You wish to come live in Paris (France) for academic year 2008-09 and teach English in a very good high school just outside Paris with full salary, benefits and some financial aid…IF YOU ARE INTERESTED:- Check the Fulbright website to see if you qualify and what the requirements are.

Now that’s what I’m talking about! I would still be an ESOL teacher, but in France!!!

But first, I must finish up my review for the Fund For Teachers grant I got last summer.

Leave a Reply

