Retablos and Tres Leches

Standard

I think that I have been on my new diet for almost a month.  I have not been perfect, but this morning I weighed in at 6 pounds lighter!  Let’s see if we can make it last!  Of course, I have been obsessively going to websites that offer nutritional information for frozen entrees (that’s what the diet revolves around – sort of a home-made Jenny Craig thing).  Anyone who has read my blog knows that I love to cook, but I am trying to refrain from too much food obsession.  I know that all of the frozen entree info collection seems like obsession, but at least it’s diet related!  😉

My birthday is coming up on Tuesday, and I am wondering about doing a little celebration at school with my students.  I have been thinking of doing this ever since our school system started choosing earlier and earlier start dates – my birthday used to only run into pre-planning!  We have advisement for the next week every morning for half an hour and I am thinking of doing something then.  I have 14 of my (current number of) 20 students in my advisement, and I would just have to send for the 6 others.  I don’t know yet.

One thing it may give me a chance to do is to make cupcakes!  I don’t think any enabling family member will get me the Cupcake Courier mentioned in this blog entry, but I may try the chongos zamoranos experiment – I have the chongos… (I provided the link again, in case anyone thought that was a euphemism.)  I also found a great looking recipe for tres leches cupcakes – I would omit the rum, of course.  Check the recipe out – it looks yummy!

Today, I ran errands, then came home and decided to try and finish some of the story boxes I started a year or so ago.  They are all done with Teresa Villegas’ new loteria, and I just needed to add some trinkets and found objects to the insides and decorate and sign the outsides.   I also have two new boxes that I made before my trip to Mexico – I used the traditional loteria with those, and need to do the same with them.  I spent a lot of time last week or the weekend before last organizing all of my trinkets.  I hope that makes them easier to use!fuecir.jpg

Tonight I have been surfing E-Bay, collecting more Ex Votos.  There is one E-Bay seller (Madreselva’s Mexican Folk Art) that sells “faux” ex votos – “thanks” paintings featuring amusing or bizarre scenarios.  I think they are all done by the same artist.  They are awesome and very colorful.   I just bought one with some of my grant money.  It was not too easy to find ex-votos this time in country – I bought two small ones, but I wanted a large one, too.

I love the stories – this one is about a circus fire.  The one I just bought was a thank you to San Antonio for finding someone a husband.  San Antonio seems to be a big theme with me right now – no, I’m not looking for another husband!  He’s also supposed to help people find things… (No, I still haven’t found my passport.).  We also were in Morelia during the Fiesta de San Antonio, and we went to the Rincon de los Solteronas, where there are many, MANY statues and images of San Antonio.

I also just love the city of San Antonio.  If it weren’t for global warming, I might have moved there!  I can barely stand the heat wave we’re having in Georgia right now.  I don’t know how I lived in Louisiana all that time!

3 responses »

  1. I just discovered your blog and am enjoying it so much. I have a question for you – what are ex-votos? how do you use them. You have some wonderful images here.
    Lynn
    reductionphysics.wordpress.com

  2. Thanks for the kind words. Sometimes the words “retablo” and “ex voto” are used a little too interchangeably. A retablo in New Mexico is a depiction of a saint. In Peru, it is a little box containing a “tableau” of native life. An ex-voto is a symbol that is usually left in a church, as a petition or prayer, or as a thanks offering.
    The retablo ex-votos here are paintings – either commissioned or self-done – to commemorate an event when divine intervention has prevented a bad thing from happening or getting worse. The one in this entry is probably just one that was made to sell to us gringos. A lot of the ones in Madreselva’s shop are a little too fantastic to believe, but I love them for their colors and themes.
    I will probably have my students write about a thing that they are thankful for and draw a picture to illustrate the event. Saints are optional, of course, because I work in a public school!

  3. Can you tell me what the inscription is on the bottom corner of this work???? In Spanish (and in English too if you can translate it) Thanks 🙂
    Melanie

Leave a Reply

