I can’t stand the rain…

Standard

Okay, I am aware that the southeast of the U.S. may still be in the drought it was in when we left, but here in Morelia, it’s the rainy season.  It didn’t rain that much the first few days we were here, but now we can expect at least one shower of varying length and severity every day.  Sometimes, we are out in the element when it happens.  Other times, like yesterday, the shower happens when we are eating lunch or are inside.  Sometimes, we return home to large puddles sitting in our kitchen.  I thought that it was because we had not closed the windows, but that is not so!

This afternoon, while coloring my hair (I know, it’s about time!) and blogging, the skies opened up!  The windows are sheltered by overhangs, but the front doors/windows are not.  I heard one of the doors slam open and ran to close it.  I took our only two towels and tried to mop up the water, then I put them against the bottom of the windows to staunch the flow coming underneath.  Well, our towels are soaked (I am sure Wheat will be happy to hear that – maybe his will dry by tomorrow morning.)  Oh, I made sure I had finished coloring and hand drying my hair before I used my towel.  Of course.  Then, I went and got a broom and attempted to sweep the accumulated water down the hole where the iron spiral staircase descended.  That was very little help.  Oh, well, we’ll just have to go out for dinner!

Today, I made it my mission to find the perfect extra suitcase to buy to bring home my treasures.  As I mentioned before, the biggest problem I was going to have was getting the large cow head mask with real horns home.  It did not fit in my large suitcase, and probably would have gored it anyway in transport.  I told Rosy, my grammar teacher that I had the perfect container visualized.  It would be a duffel bag with square ends that would equal the height and depth of the horns on the mask.

We went to eat lunch at El Piccolo Italiano, a really good and economical restaurant recommended by our school.  There, we had panini, which were not cooked in an iron, but were made like European sandwiches.  A really good Italian/French bread was used, and there were thin slices of meat and cheese inside.  Unlike French sandwiches, mayonnaise was used, as well as lettuce.  We each got a 11 or 12 inch sandwich, sliced in two.  Awesome, huh?

Rosy had suggested that we try to look downtown for a suitcase instead of going to WalMart. Morelia has a Woolworth’s, which I don’t thing exist any more in the U.S.  We went in and refused to be tempted by offers of THREE suitcases of different sizes for 890 pesos and 790 pesos – and even the set of FIVE suitcases for 449 pesos.  Finally, I spied my suitcase – a large duffel bag with enough space for the mask, and lots of pockets – two on each end and two double pockets on the front.  It was 179 pesos – about $17.  I didn’t seriously check out shipping the mask by DHL or FedEx because I knew that it would be outrageous.

Now, the bag is home, and everything will fit – until I get to Puebla and buy more stuff!  I also need to make sure my tin items are protected.  Yes, it is a possibility that the horns may go through, but I am going to try and prevent that as much as possible.

I also bought some chocolates for my teachers as a going away present.  Last time I was here – seven years ago – all of the classes were one on one and it was customary to give your teachers a little present upon leaving.  Now, a lot of the classes are group, and I don’t think that applies.  Especially since I have witnessed my husband’s revolving door of teachers and fellow students at the beginning of each week.  But, since I had private classes and kept the same teachers every week – and I really like my teachers – I want to leave them something to say thank you.  I should have brought some Pour Deux Bakers or some of my art, but I ran out of time before I decided to do that.

By the way, the reason that we had no hot water was that the last storm blew the pilot light out on the water heater.  Mexican homes have these big tanks on their roofs to hold water and propane.  The containers are refilled regularly, but it is still a strange system for Americans.  On the other hand, I guess that you could live out in the country and be fairly self contained, as long as the propane and water trucks came by!  I guess that rain fills the tanks, too – thus explaining the need for disinfectant for the water that is used.  All I will remember is that when the propane truck passes, it plays the same annoying song and announcement, and the two Cocker Spaniels next door commence to howling.

Okay, the rain has stopped, and the power – which had gone out briefly – has returned.  Time to scrounge something to eat and see what’s on TV!

2 responses »

  1. By what means did you locate an apartment in Morelia? We would like to visit Morelia in September and October. Any suggestions would be appreciated. Thanks.

  2. Our apartment arrangements were made by the language school – It was a little over-priced. Maybe you could contact Baden-Powell Institute to see if they know of any agencies.

Leave a Reply

