Merry Christmas!

Standard

I have been off for Christmas holidays since Friday, and have not done much. I had most of my shopping done, relying heavily on my CafePress Store for t-shirt gifts, as well as calendars. I currently have three calendars for sale on my site – one of my collages, one large scale calendar with my Quilt Loteria, and last year’s Loteria calendar.I made mention in a previous entry about folding toys, and included an illustration of The Toymaker’s folding angel retablo. Recently, I have been playing around with that concept, creating a couple of mini folding shrines of my own. I have one for sale at my CafePress store, under the new category: Folding Shrines, but I have ordered copies of each to see if they come together correctly.

I have eight more days of vacation, and I am going to try and take it one day at a time. I have not done that much celebrating, having gone to my mom’s place on Christmas eve to exchange gifts, then to my brother in law’s house for Christmas brunch. Last night, we went to an open house hosted by a dear friend. She is definitely of the “old school” of entertaining, being in her 80’s, and we committed a little faux pas by taking the “open house” appelation literally and arriving an hour and a half late. Now we know that the time that the “open house” begins is the time that we should show up.

Since it ended at 8PM, my husband and I decided, along with half the people on our side of town, to go and see a movie. I don’t know what we were thinking. We did not use Fandango, so we had to stand in a long line to buy tickets. The good news is that the movie my husband wanted to see – Eragon – hardly had any people in the theatre. The bad news was that I HAD to have popcorn (my motivation for going to see Eragon), and spent 20 minutes or so in line at the concession stand. Lucky for me, I made it just in time for the opening credits.

The movie was not that bad, really. But I made a quick calculation: $9.50 a ticket times two = $19.00, then my medium Diet Coke and medium buttered popcorn was $9.75. Grand total for a movie night for two: $28.75 – $30.75 if we had taken advantage of Fandango. That is too much, and Eragon was not worth that much… And the popcorn was really not that great. When will I learn to insist that we wait for the Venture Cinema, which is only $2.00 per person, and to bring a big purse with snacks and drinks…

Leave a Reply

