So, the other day, I bought this roaster (a whole …

Standard

So, the other day, I bought this roaster (a whole chicken), garlic (about 6 heads), and some root vegetables (turnips, parsnips, carrots, potatoes, and onions). I plan on doing some roasting.

I am constantly in search of quick and easy ways to prepare dinner. Some people may not consider roasting to be quick and easy, but I have proof that it is – here is a recipe for Roast Chicken from The Real Man’s Cookbook:

Roast Chicken

Serving Size : 8

Preparation Time :0:10

Ingredients

1 whole chicken

1 dash pepper

This has got to be one of the easiest recipes in the world. At the same time it can be quite impressive.

Clean and wash chicken. Most of the time this also involves pulling the neck and liver and other pieces of anatomy out of the cavity of the chicken. Try not to think of biology class in high school. Just think succulent, tender and juicy – you’ll be all right.

Place chicken in baking pan. It is best if the chicken can be raised on a grill. Sprinkle pepper over all. Jab holes in the chicken’s skin with a sharp knife and LOOSELY cover with foil. This foil should merely be bent in the middle and should not be tucked in all the way around the pan.

Bake all at 375 for approximately 2 and a half to 3 hours.

NOTES : You may also wish to put paprika or salt on the skin. Even some parsley or basil or garlic…Barbecue sauce is good too.

For a more refined approach – or for someone who thinks that the above looks too easy, check out Roast Chicken Made Better, Start to Finish, which handles the minute details like choosing the right chicken, making a more flavorful chicken, the right pan, and deglazing for gravy!

I originally planned on making Forty Cloves of Garlic Chicken, and will probably adapt the above recipes to utilize the garlic cloves, the lemons I have in the fridge, and the packages of herbs I have in my freezer.

I have loved parsnips ever since I had them at a friend’s house in England, but I rarely eat them here. So I bought some, with the idea of roasting them. I like to roast vegetables – if you don’t like chopping (I rarely peel them!), then figure out something with your Cuisinart!

Roasted Root Vegetables (from Dr. Weil’s website)

2 pounds root vegetables (use potatoes, carrots, parsnips, turnips, rutabagas, beets), peeled and cut into 1-inch pieces

1 medium onion, peeled and cut into 1/3-inch wedges

1 tablespoon extra-virgin olive oil

Salt to taste

1 head garlic, separated into cloves and peeled

Chopped fresh herbs like rosemary or balsamic vinegar (optional)

1. Heat oven to 400 degrees. Place the root vegetables and onion in a roasting pan.

2. Toss the vegetables with the olive oil and salt to taste. Do not crowd the vegetables.

3. Roast the mixture for a total of 45-50 minutes, stirring every 15 minutes. After 30 minutes, scatter the garlic cloves in with the vegetables. Continue stirring every 15 minutes until the vegetables are tender and evenly browned.

4. Before serving, add a sprinkling of fresh chopped herbs or balsamic vinegar, if you like for additional flavor.

Serves 6

I hate to say it, but I have just not been in the mood for raw vegetables and fruits lately. I particularly am not fond of apples. I am fond of the idea of an apple, but don’t like the peel. Last weekend, my mother made this recipe for a brunch, and it was very good:

Baked Apples with Dried Fruit

2 apples, cored and sliced into rings

1/2 cup brown sugar

1/2 cup butter

1/2 cup dried apricots and cranberries, chopped into small pieces

Arrange apple slices in a glass baking dish. Sprinkle the dried fruit over the slices. Melt the butter, add the brown sugar, and blend. Pour the mixture over the fruit. Bake at 350 degrees until apples are soft, and fruit has absorbed juices.

Leave a comment