More Burrito Fillings – I really enjoyed the burri…

Standard

More Burrito Fillings – I really enjoyed the burritos I made a couple of weeks ago, and am thinking of making more! I did a little web search for filling ideas, and here are some to try:

From 360 Degrees Signature Burritos:

Cajun Chicken Burrito РFlame broiled breast of chicken saut̩ed with red onion, bell peppers, and Cajun sauce wrapped with Spanish rice, black beans, fresh salsa, romaine lettuce in your choice of tortilla.

Chicken & Artichoke РFlame broiled marinated breast of chicken saut̩ed with artichoke heart, red onions, bell pepper and wrapped with Spanish rice, black beans, fresh salsa, romaine lettuce in your choice of tortilla.

Thai Chicken РFlame broiled marinated breast of chicken saut̩ed with bell peppers, red onions, sprouts, carrots, and Thai peanut sauce, wrapped with jasmine rice, fresh salsa, romaine lettuce in your choice of tortilla.

Curry Chicken РFlame broiled breast of chicken saut̩ed with raisins, red onions, bell pepper, carrots, and curry sauce wrapped with jasmine rice, fresh salsa, romaine lettuce in your choice of tortilla.

Roasted Leg of Lamb – Roasted with garlic & rosemary wrapped with Spanish rice, black beans, fresh salsa, romaine lettuce in your choice of tortilla.

Blacken Filet Of Fish РFillet of Snapper blackened saut̩ed with bell pepper, red onion, and lemon garlic sauce wrapped with Spanish rice, black beans, fresh salsa, romaine lettuce in your choice of tortilla.

Prawns, Scallops & Salmon РPrawns, Scallops, ans Salmon saut̩ed with red onion, bell peppers and lemon garlic sauce wrapped with Spanish rice, black beans, fresh salsa, romaine lettuce in your choice of tortilla.

Mixed Vegetables and Goat Cheese РSpanish rice, black beans, goat cheese, saut̩ed vegetables in herbs and spices (zucchini, yellow squash, chayote, bell peppers, eggplants, tomatoes, onions), fresh salsa, romaine lettuce wrapped in your choice of tortilla.

I also have ideas about meats such as lengua (tongue!), chorizo (Mexican sausage) and picadillo (spicy ground beef or pork). Ideas for veggie stuffings have included a Thai or Indian theme. I was really happy to see the suggestions for veggie fillings above, but would possibly add nopales (cactus paddles) and corn. I would have to go easy on the squash, as my husband is not a fan of squash. Mediterranean and Indian burritos could include chick peas or hummus, and there are many legumes to choose from. I don’t think I will do tofu, as I plan on freezing the burritos. I also do not plan on putting tomatoes, fresh salsa, sour cream, guacamole, or lettuce in for the same reason. I have no problem heating up my burrito and piling things on top!

I really prefer the idea of taking meats and/or veggies and cooking them in ethnic sauces, like the mole poblano sauce I used in my last burrito adventure (see Sept. 23 entry). I also will experiment with a variety of flavored wraps, although plain white flour tortillas are very nice. Mission Foods makes three flavors right now: Zesty Garlic Herb, Sundried Tomato Basil, and Garden Spinach Herb. I think that our local Publix carries a different brand.

And finally, I just found a site on How to Wrap a Burrito. Just to be all encompassing! Have fun! I’ll share recipes as I come up with them!

Leave a Reply

