Burrito time!

Standard

Burrito time! My mother gave me a 10-pack of wheat tortillas, burrito sized. I decided to make burritos. The idea was to freeze them, but I won’t have the chance. I have taken them to school for lunch, and heat them up in the microwave with a glob of shredded cheese on top. I have made burritos in the past – slapping together beans and rice and stuffing them, but I wanted to be creative. I also opted not to add rice, since the tortilla has plenty of carbohydrates already. Here is what I made. (By the way, one of the tortillas was missing – either I got short-changed, or my husband snatched it!)

Black Bean Burritos

1 can of black beans

1/2 onion, chopped

1/2 bell pepper, fresh or roasted, chopped

1/2 to 2/3 cup of corn

1/2 cup crushed tomatoes or salsa

1 can green chiles, chopped

Cumin, garlic, pepper sauce, to taste

1. Sautee onions and fresh bell pepper until soft (if using roasted peppers, wait to add)

2. When onions are soft, add other ingredients and heat until bubbling.

3. Add seasonings, to taste

Chicken Mole Burritos

Olive oil, for sauteeing

4 boneless, skinless chicken thighs

1/2 onion

1 bell pepper or poblano pepper (careful, some poblanos can have heat!)

1/2 jar mole sauce (I used Rogelio)

1. Saute onions and peppers, then remove to another container. Set aside

2. Saute chicken in same pan, adding more oil if necessary. Remove from pan and chop carefully.

3. Put all ingredients back in pan.

4. Dilute the mole sauce according to directions on jar (you may dilute with water or chicken broth). Add to pan and mix thoroughly (do not worry if it doesn’t mix perfectly, it will blend in the pan.).

Burrito tips:

Be careful not to add too much liquid to your filling – you don’t want your burritos to be soggy!

Don’t add too much filling – it will be difficult to roll your burritos!

I am really excited about burrito fillings now – look for more in the future! I am especially interested in using Mexican veggies, like nopales (cactus), to fill burritos! I also want to go buy some barbacoa and lengua, and fill some with that! Yummy!

Leave a Reply

