I love pizza

Standard

I love pizza. In particular, I love Pizza Hut Meatlover’s Pan Pizza, and can eat half a pizza in one sitting (ahem, in moments of extreme stress, or PMS!). If I have the ingredients to make my own pizza on hand, I can often satisfy myself with fewer calories.

I usually keep these products in my pantry and refrigerator:

Kontos Flatbread – it’s the best! And it keeps for over a month in the fridge

A jar of Pasta Sauce – Muir Glen and Classico are my favorites, and they are also have long fridge life!

A package of Hormel Sliced Turkey Pepperoni

Shredded Part-Skim Mozzarella Cheese and Grated Parmesan/Romano Cheese.

Lower Fat Turkey Pepperoni Individual Pizza

Pre-heat oven to 450°F. Spoon 2 tablespoons of Pasta sauce over the top of the Pita and spread almost to the edges. Lay out your pepperoni slices on top of the sauce (or, if you prefer, you can put then on top of the cheese. Sprinkle about 1/4-cup of mozzarella cheese over the sauce and pepperoni, adding some Parmesan on top if you want. I also like to add some herbs, such as Herbes de Provence or basil, oregano, and parsley. Place on a cookie sheet and put in oven for about 5 – 15 minutes or until cheese melts. Remove from oven and slice into four slices. Serve hot. Add more Parmesan – my husband like red pepper flakes.

Individual Veggie Pizza

Pre-heat oven to 400°F. Mix any combination of fresh vegetables (I like to stick to peppers, onions, canned artichokes, black or green olives, eggplant – Italian veggies!). I would saute the peppers and onions first, if you don’t want your veggies too crunchy. Use about 1/2-cup of vegetables per Pita. Spread vegetables over the top. Add some shredded Part Skim Mozzarella and Parmesan/Romano Cheeses. Place on a cookie sheet and put in oven for 10-12 minutes or until cheese melts. Remove from oven and slice into four wedges. Serve hot.

Have fun making your own!

Leave a Reply

