Recuerdos de Mexico

Standard

Well, I will soon be home, and able to make my own recipes, and blog them! Last night, I had another bowl of Sopa Tarasca, which had a very different taste to it than I had the day before. I could not place it, but it obviously had some Italian influence – which it is NOT supposed to have! I am looking again at recipes, even though I referenced one in a previous entry. Here is a recipe that I translated through google from a Mexican website:

SOUP TARASCA

INGREDIENTS:

1 cup of frijoles (red Kidney Beans)
2 tomatoes
3 cups of pork or chicken broth
1 onion (I don´t know what “trozo” is, and I like onions), chopped
1 clove of garlic, chopped
4 tortillas
1 cup of queso fresco, crumbled
Pasilla chile to taste (I have seen chiles negros used, and maybe they are the same!)
Oil to fry the tortillas and chiles
salt

PROCEDURE:

1. Soak beans and cook them with pork, if wanted, (or just use canned beans!) Puree them with their liquid.

2. Roast and peel the tomatoes (another shortcut – I think that Rotel now does roasted tomatoes and green chilis! There may even be roasted tomatoes on their own!). Sautee them with garlic and the onion; fry in a casserole until the garlic and onions are soft. Then puree them together.

3. Add the bean puree and the chicken or pork broth. Bring it to a boil for a few minutes, then lower the heat and let simmer.

4. Slice the tortillas in strips, fry them in oil and drain on paper towels. In the same oil, fry the chiles, drain and cut them in strips.

5. In deep bowls, place the tortilla strips and the strips of chile. Pour the hot soup over these and sprinkle with cheese.

Forgive my editorializing, but this looks about right! Some restaurants cut the cheese in cubes and put them in the bowl before pouring the broth over it!

I also decided to try the crepas con cajeta for dessert last night. I thought they were mediocre, but ever since I saw a recipe in Cooking Light magazine, I have considered making them for dessert. I think I might add ice cream and/or bananas to it, though! The recipe I referenced uses the raspberries as a garnish, I believe!

I tried the corundas the other day. They are a type of triangular tamale with no meat inside. It can be served with pork, cream and salsas, as well as put into a soup.

One response »

  1. Pingback: Now, About Chilaquiles « Maison Celeste

Leave a Reply

