Mom’s birthday meal

Standard

I am not a big fan of Blogger at the moment – and here is why:

Last night, after editing my latest entry, I went to “View Blog”, and found that I could only scroll down to a certain point, and then it would go no further – I mean, not even to the end of the entry! So, I clicked on both of my Archive buttons, and the Current Entry button that would appear, and then I was usually able to scroll through – but not always. What’s up with that? I went to my page on my husband’s Mac, and this did not occur.

Then, I happened to notice that my July 9th entry got posted twice, so I tried to delete one of the copies. When I went back to my page, they still were there. So, I tried again, and this time, when I hit “publish,” I found that I had deleted them both. I almost had a screaming fit, but, luckily, I had the entry saved, so I decided to wait a day, and repost it. I worked hard to type up those recipes, and they are both really good! So, here they are again:

I wanted to post two recipes that I made Saturday night (July 5th) for my mother and my husband. It took organization of all of my Cooking Light magazines, and searching of indexes to find it. Then, I thought that I would save myself time typing by finding the recipe on their website, so I could just cut and paste. I found my magazine, entered the “secret” word (the site is only available to subscribers now), and did several searches, but was not able to find the recipe. That’s annoying! So I have to type it myself!

Spring Seafood Stew

1 teaspoon olive oil

cooking spray

1 cup thinly sliced leek (about 1 large)

3 garlic cloves, minced

1 cup dry white wine

1 (14 1/2 ounce) can fat-free less-sodium chicken broth

3/4 pound medium shrimp, peeled and de-veined

3/4 pound large sea scallops, cut in half horizontally

2 tablespoons chilled butter, cut into small pieces

1 1/2 cups chopped plum tomato

1 tablespoon minced fresh tarragon

1 teaspoon grated lemon rind

1/2 teaspoon salt

1/2 teaspoon black pepper

1/4 teaspoon ground red pepper

1. Heat oil in a large Dutch oven coated with cooking spray over medium heat. Add leek and garlic, cook 4 minutes or until tender, stirring occasionally.

2. Add wine and broth, bring to a simmer. Stir in shrimp and scallops, bring to a boil. Reduce heat and simmer 3 minutes or until shrimp and scallops are done.

3. Remove shrimp and scallops from pan with a slotted spoon, keep warm.

4. Bring broth mixture to a boil, cook 4 minutes. Reduce heat to low.

5. Add butter, stirring constantly with a whisk. Stir in chopped tomato and remaining ingredients.

6. Divide shrimp and scallops evenly among 4 soup bowls. Spoon 3/4 cup broth mixture into each bowl.

Yield: 4 servings.

This is a very impressive recipe, and is not too expensive if you find a special on scallops and shrimp. Do not use bay scallops! I use jar garlic and canned tomatoes. If you can’t find tarragon, try basil.

It is cherry season, and I love to make a clafoutis for dessert. This one is very low calorie. Just make sure you use a container that allows the custard to rise above the cherries. You can even double it. Now, I do not pit the cherries, because I don’t mind the pits – it slows down eating – but you can pit if you want, or, in the winter time, buy frozen pitted black cherries!

Clafoutis

1 pound cherries, with or without pits

2 tablespoons kirschwasser, brandy, or lemon juice

1 tablespoon powdered sugar

3 tablespoons flour

3 tablespoons granulated sugar

3/4 cup skim milk

2 eggs

grated rind of one half of a lemon

pinch of nutmeg

1/4 teaspoon vanilla

1. Remove stems from cherries, and pits, if desired. Toss with powdered sugar and kirschwasser and set aside for at least 2 hours.

2. Preheat oven to 375 degrees and spray a Pyrex dish (7″ x 11″, or whatever size lets the custard come up over most of the cherries) with cooking spray.

3. In a bowl, pour the flour and granulated sugar, and stir together.

4. Pour in milk and whisk until thoroughly blended.

5. Whisk in eggs, one at a time, and then add lemon rind, nutmeg, and vanilla.

6. Pour liquid off of cherries (If it is a liqueur, and if you like, you may make this liquid part of the 3/4 cup of milk – just add less milk).

7. Scatter cherries evenly on bottom of cooking dish.

8. Pour egg and milk mixture over cherries and cook for 30-45 minutes, or until brown and puffed.

9. Chill in the refrigerator. The clafoutis will deflate after it is removed from the oven. Serve cold.

Servings: 8

I was not too happy with my clafoutis on Saturday night. I needed to use a smaller dish, or to have doubled the recipe. I also now have a gas stove, and need to learn about how it cooks – the clafoutis was a tad overdone. Note: I have a bottle of Pineau des Charentes, a fortified wine from Poitiers, France, and I usually soak my cherries in that.

Leave a Reply

