Best Books Ever

Standard

I have always been a bookworm – I was famous for it in elementary school.  That is, if you consider being ridiculed, bullied, and jeered at (living in a small town in Louisiana, reading was not a pastime that was generally admired – except for your teacher, of course.). I made the big 6-mile move to the big city of Lafayette when in high school, and things went a little better.

Right now, I don’t take too much time to sit down and read a book.  I receive most of my literature from books on CD driving to and from work.  If the book is particularly good, I take the long way home.  I belong to two libraries now – Cobb County and Gwinnett County.  I have already paid for Cobb, but I probably will not renew.  Gwinnett had a good selection – they must have more commuters.

Right now, I am starting into the Berrybender Narratives by Larry McMurtry.   I am reading Sin Killer, the first one.  That reminded me that I was planning on keeping a list of books that I love – what better place to put that than on my blog?  I happen to be one of those people who reads books more than once – a thing that most of my students find inconceivable.  I would much rather read or listen to a great book that I have already read than to waste my time on a mediocre unknown book.

So, here’s a start – they are in no certain order – I am just listing them as I think of them:

  • Lonesome Dove by Larry McMurtry – I still cry when my favorite characters die!
  • National Velvet by Enid Bagnold – Don’t even speak to me of that abomination of a movie with Elizabeth Taylor.
  • Gone With The Wind by Margaret Mitchell
  • A Confederacy of Dunces by John Kennedy Toole – Read it in honor of the real New Orleans.
  • Our Hearts Were Young and Gay by Cornelia Otis Skinner and Emily Kimbrough
  • Cress Delahanty by Jessamyn West – I don’t know why this isn’t more of a classic!
  • Where the Red Fern Grows by Wilson Rawls
  • My Friend Flicka,  Thunderhead, and The Green Grass of Wyoming by Mary O’Hara
  • The Stand by Stephen King
  • House of the Scorpion by Nancy Farmer
  • Memoirs of a Geisha by Arthur Golden
  • Prodigal Summer by Barbara Kingsolver – I love this book!
  • The Misty of Chincoteague books by Marguerite Henry
  • The Dune Trilogy by Frank Herbert
  • The Original Trixie Belden Mysteries – I wish life were really like that!
  • The Girl Who Owned A City by O.T. Nelson
  • A Wrinkle in Time, A Wind in the Door, and A Swiftly Tilting Planet by Madeleine L’Engle
  • The Prime of Miss Jean Brodie by Muriel Spark

That’s all for now – I am going to Fernbank with my mom, my sister, and her kids.

2 responses »

  1. Hi, Celeste,

    I love your site (and your art work!) … but especially noticed your reading list: it’s similar to my favorites — especially Lonesome Dove and Misty of Chincoteague. Oh, and just today I got around to getting up a reading guide for Confederacy of Dunces.

    Anyway, this isn’t to be spam–so delete this comment once you’ve read it. But I would love you to take a look at my site: LitLovers (http://www.litlovers.com). It’s about books and book clubs. It also offers free online lit courses, ideas for kids, and hundreds of recipes.

    If you see something that interests you, I’d love it if you’d keep it in mind, and when you’re stumped over something to blog about, mention the site.

    But even if that’s not appealing, take a look at LitLovers anyway…you’ll find a lot of great reading ideas.

    Many thanks…and keep on blogging.
    Molly

    Molly Lundquist
    LitLovers, LLC
    1519 Beaver Road
    Sewickley, PA 15143
    412-741-5350

  2. Pingback: All the Books… | Maison Celeste

Leave a comment